biddy

By biddy

Reed beds. Middleton Lakes RSPB reserve.

The light was sharp yesterday afternoon as we walked along the, extremely(!) muddy footpaths which wound their way in different directions through the reserve. They were all very helpfully signposted, and we were furnished with a small map that we had picked up at the entrance. 
These places are breathing spaces. 
The reed beds were dappled with glinting sunlight through the tall bulrushes. 
I had my binoculars with me but aside from the chaffinches, herons, nuthatches, the great, blue, and  coal tits, I did not manage to spot anything which I had not already seen many times. Although I heard the calls of some small birds in the undergrowth which I could not identify, I waited and watched to no avail! There was a song thrush in amongst dense foliage. 
A  very noisy gathering of Arctic terns greeted us at one of the small lakes, where a couple of grebes sailed along serenely.
 Ubiquitous Canada geese dabbling on the edges. 
    Next time we visit it will be for a longer time, and that is a pleasure to come!             

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.