The Days are Getting Longer

Quite suddenly it seems, the mornings have got light at an hour when it is reasonable to get out and walk the marches before breakfast rather than slogging away on the gym treadmill while it is still dark outside.
There were even some minutes of sunshine as I crossed Bruntsfield Links, enough time to manage a blip of my shadow imitating the spire of the Bruntsfield Barclay Church.

My eldest granddaughter (extra image) had a day off from working on the dissertation for her finals in economics and left Stirling to come and share a bowl of soup with me in the Dower House.
While it is not really the done thing to boast about one’s own children, it is allowable to do so about grandchildren, which is why I can say that I am as proud as punch that she has been awarded one of two Ryder scholarships for academic excellence.....and she doesn’t even play golf.
In three months she will have graduated with a degree in economics and be home in Oman looking for a job in the Middle East.

Her Mama, Daughter #3 arrives in Edinburgh from Oman tomorrow and the distaff side of the family will all meet up again for lunch on Sunday.
My goodness, the excitement is palpable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.