Number Thirteen, Lucky For Spider Hunting

Intent on shooting macro today I donned my kneeling pads and put my macro lens in my pocket. First I checked out the white flowers on the pink, flowering cherry, sucker. This time last year they were covered in bees. Nothing. :(

I got shots of a buzzard in flight and a few others with the long lens then swapped back to the macro when I got to the southerly brick wall of number thirteen disused glasshouse. Quite a few zebra spiders but I was looking for something smaller. Eventually I found this minute, appealingly hairy, jumping spider. I thought at first that it was Pseudeuophrys langifera but I think it might be Sittipub (up until last year Sitticus) pubescens.

I can't believe that I haven't seen any green shieldbugs yet this year. I'm looking forward to photographing bee flies but they don't take to the air until the temperature reaches seventeen degrees. Not much chance of that in the near future, the mini Beast from the East is on its way. :(  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.