Lovely structures in the rain

I took a walk at lunchtime to try and clear my head. It was raining, but I had my woolly hat, and it's too easy to say I'll just stay in. The office becomes a prison if you do. I walked to the cathedral and as I walked back out towards the road on tombland I took this. The medieval building you can see through the arch, on the other side of the road, is one of my favourites. Because it is so crooked. I liked the combination of that, the arch and the church, plus the building to the right. I do love character. Then I went to some charity shops and bought a nice bit of pink material in my favourite vintage one, for £3.50. It is new, but looks a bit 60s. I hope there is enough to make a blouse with short sleeves.

My day was a glass half empty one. It started with just that. Well, a cup of tea that I pulled all over myself, my bedroom floor, in my handbag, on my clothes, makeup, just everywhere. I should have got back into bed right then!

At work my day was fractured with phone calls. I felt I wasn't getting anywhere. I was right there. Some days are just like that. It was my late today, so I knew I'd be the last one there, & I had to make the best of it. Head ached a bit for most of the day. We had men (they were all men actually, no women at all) from IT giving us new laptops, so another interruption. Not as easy as that - they have to install each one, and ensure all applications are there and working. So probably half an hour per person. Miraculously mine seems to all be working so far.

I left with Heather at 5.40. She usually works late so it was nice not to be on my own. Home at 6.45 and retrieved my dinner from the oven. Thanks to Jon. Have received a few messages from old CCC pensions colleagues following the dire news about Northamptonshire County Council on today's news. So I messaged my friend Clive who is still working for them to find out what is going on. He's read the 50 odd page report and said they will be getting an update from the acting CEO on Monday. Watch this space. I won't make any comment, but can't say I'm surprised, knowing what the management was like the short time I had working with them. If I was there, I'd be looking to get out.

Jon and Henry are at Explorers. I've not done much else. Neither do I intend to. Mollie comes back tomorrow- so I wonder what I might blip on Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.