Welcome friends

Found this ole beauty and added it to the steadily growing 'garage sale' pile.   Seems to be a month of daily trips down memory lane.  I think I painted this urn at least 30 years ago and it valiantly stood watch near a gate or entrance welcoming all who entered our property and home.  As was the trend back then, stencilling was 'in' and I think I pretty much stencilled anything I could get my hands on! It's travelled through 2 moves since then, but this will be it's last move with us and perhaps a new owner will see beauty in restoring it.  

There's a book out called 'the life-changing magic of tidying up'.  I haven't read it but a few friends have and according to them the question to ask when decluttering is to hold the item in your hands and ask yourself...does this bring me joy?  If yes, keep it.  If not, let it go.  (I've taken liberty in generalizing.)  

So in my own way, I've done the same thing as I've gone through most of my/our belongings.  In doing so, I've realized that there are very few tangible things that bring me joy.  It's not that I don't enjoy or take pleasure in the beautiful items that have decorated our home (and past homes), it's just that it somehow doesn't matter much anymore.  

I actually really like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.