Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Nod to the Past

Location: Keepers Pool in Sutton Park  

I had another appointment with the physio so took advantage of the good weather for a walk in the park beforehand.  I walked areas I'd not been to in many years, including Wyndley Pool where I have photographs and video of me feeding the water fowl in the 1960s!  It was quite poignant to see parents doing the same with their children while I was there.  I also saw the unusual sight (for this area) of a cormorant stretching it's wings in their characteristic way.

The image is looking across Keepers Pool.  In my youth there used to be a lido behind the lifebuoy.  In those long distant times, with memories of warm summers and cold winters, we would visit the lido to swim in the school holidays.  My abiding memory was that the water of the lido seemed even colder than the water in the pool itself, which we were allowed, even encouraged, to swim in during those innocent days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.