Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The Oconee Belle

I persuaded the hubby to ride with me (or else I was going by myself!) to Devils Fork State Park which is a couple of hours away.   As usual, we decided to take the back roads so the two hour ride became three and a half.  I think we drove on every little road between our house and the park!   And none of it was in a straight line!!    But we made it!

Imagine my surprise when I got out of the car to see the guide, Dan the Mountain Man who led our hiking group last Saturday on that mountain hike adventure to the waterfalls.    He was helping the Oconee Belle Festival committee set up for the festival which will be tomorrow.   So glad we went up there today as tomorrow the trail would be full of people!   

The reason I wanted to make this drive is to see the Oconee Belle..a tiny little wildflower that only blooms for a short period in early spring.   The flower is rare in the wild and only grows in some mountain areas of South Carolina, North Carolina and Georgia along moist ground at mountain streams.    They have been grown successfully at nurseries but there are not many places in the wild where they can be found. 

The Belles are protected at the park and this year there were more flowers than we have ever seen.  It was worth the trip and the 2 hour hike around the creek path where they were growing.   

Oh yes,  we came back home along a different route and found all the other roads that we missed on the way up to the mountains.   Next time, I am taking the two hour route!  

Thanks to Anni for hosting Flower Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.