secret garden

By freespiral

Féile Sile na Gig

Been trying to show you over and over
Look at these, my child bearing hips
Look at these, my ruby red ruby lips
Look at these, my work strong-arms
You've got to see my bottle full of charm
Lay it all at your feet
You turn around and say back to me
He said
Sheelagh na gig
sheelagh na gig
You exhibitionist ...

You may not know this but today is the feast day celebrating Sile na Gig!  The three specimens collaged are all to be found near holy wells - the two on the left and right are definite siles (or sheilas or sheelaghs) but the one in the middle I reckon is something else*! Much debate about what these fearsome sculptures represent. Traditionally they were thought to be ancient - depictions of the Goddess as Hag. Current thinking is that they date from the Norman period and are were used to ward off the evil eye. They are often found high up on castles and in hidden places in churches. They are usually  grotesque, naked and displaying their genitals! These siles arrived at the wells once the castles were ruinous.
An interesting website here  should you want to know more.
And another theory is that Sile was St Patrick's wife - more here

Exhibitionist


* I reckon that's a crucifixion 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.