Nostalgia

Sunday night. It’s almost time to put my feet up and relax (20:15). Only a couple of emails still to do and then some tidying up in the kitchen.

It has been a busy day - busy at my desk with accounts. Spreadsheets. Bank statements. Invoices. As it was cold again, and windy again, with a bit of snow added in just to put the gloss on spring arriving, something useful to do inside was a bit of a bonus.

The weather gave me a touch of nostalgia this weekend. Yesterday when I was driving through snow showers I had this vivid memory of my second visit to Vilnius - this time of year, in 1993 or ’94. The weather was the same.

The memory focussed on the Sunday lunchtime taxi ride from the city out to the airport to start the trip home... bouncing along through the snow showers in a ramshackle GAZ Volga taxi. It smelled strongly of petrol and the driver had Russian rock music belting out on the radio (back then most taxi drivers were Russian speaking Lithuanians).

Maybe before bed I’ll find time to research a flight to Vilnius for early summer. June is the best month.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.