Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

After the Rain

I like the latest weather pattern. It rains at night and dawns fresh and clean. By afternoon there are towering white cumulous clouds on a blue background, building for the nighttime showers. It amazes me how much water is held and released by trees. Sometimes after a rain it is still raining underneath the larger trees, especially the non-deciduous conifers. These lovely roses were in somebody's front garden. Many of them had their heads bowed low by the weight of the water on them.

I finished my book during the night last night. Having finished most of the books in my nightstand reading pile, I went prowling through the bookcases looking for something new. I love books, and although I rarely reread them I don't like to get rid of them either. Browsing through the shelves of books, I am reminded of ones I've enjoyed and appalled by the fact that I can't remember a thing about some of them. (In my last culling of books, I decided to get rid of any book that I was required to buy for college, since I don't have very many fond memories about any of them and have no idea why I've kept them for all these years.)

I finally settled on The King's General by Daphne du Maurier, a volume which I suspect must have come to me via my mother. Quite a potboiler, yet wonderfully period appropriate and hard to put down. If I was thinking that it would be a calm read in the middle of the night, I was wrong. It kept me from thinking about arranging furniture and signing documents, but it was a swashbuckling tale and I couldn't put it down! I may soon have to search out a copy of Mother Goose!

When I left OilMan at the new house yesterday, he was still talking with the proud and enthusiastic contractor who had sone the remodeling. As he got more and more involved with hidden wires, special latches, indirect lighting and, I'm not kidding...the outdoor speakers disguised as rocks! I'm sure he will be home today with scale drawings of every room and I'll be back to arranging furniture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.