Whatcom Chorale Concert

We sat in the balcony for the Whatcom Chorale concert this afternoon. I snuck one photo and this is it. Cynthia, aka Connections is in that group of singers on the right. Hard to see her because she's behind one of the tenors, but she is there. 

The Chorale performed magnificently. They sang Frostiana, Randall Thompson’s insightful settings of timeless poetry by Robert Frost, plus selections from Joseph Haydn’s compelling oratorio, Die Jahreszeiten: Autumn and Winter, and Pietro Mascagni’s Anthem for Spring They also presented local composer Henry From's setting of Orazguly Annaev's poem “Self-Portrait.” for soprano with piano accompaniment. From is 13 years old! And the piece was wonderful, with a musical maturity far beyond his age.

After the concert we went to the reception and talked with chorale members. I sang for many years in that group so it was great to greet and congratulate many friends. Cynthia was there and so was Phil who sat near us in the balcony to watch the concert.

I took Shelly home and then headed to my house, stopping at the Coop for some groceries. Then I remembered that it is my brother Steve's last evening here before he heads to Venice to join a print making studio for a long working holiday. So I called him and headed over to his house for dinner. He was all packed and ready for some time together before I gave him a farewell hug and headed home to feed the cats and head to bed myself. It was another great day and I'm so happy Shelly and I got to hear Cynthia's concert with the Whatcom Chorale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.