New England Mill

This abandoned mill is in Holyoke, Mass., a dozen miles south of us. I was there today to check color proofs for a calendar with my photos--both birds and landscapes. The company Hadley Printing is producing it as their annual calendar for distribution to their customers. A friend works for them as a free-lance designer and proposed my work.

They are in another industrial building--formerly a soap factory-- a few hundred meters to the north (left) along this canal. For decades beginning in the late 19th century Holyoke was the world's biggest paper manufacturer (according to Wikipedia), and is thus known as the Paper City.

I'm entitling this "New England Mill" because such brick industrial mills were were widespread in the region from the late 1800's onward. Most still stand, even if abandoned.

Edit: I just notice my year-ago blip of Grand Central Terminal--a classier old building, in much better shape :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.