Golden Feather

Extremely cold but beautifully bright walk around Seventy Acres Lake this afternoon. I got some very close goldcrest images and followed a fox trotting along and got plenty of shots of him. 

I heard a commotion across the water and could see through the long lens a mixed flock of geese near the wind pump. As I neared the spot a pair of greylags took off and then I met a pair of Canada geese. A male Egyptian goose was quacking hoarsely and staying close to his mate. I noticed first that she had a golden misplaced feather sticking up and then saw that her right wing was hanging down. :( He was being very protective. A pair of swans appeared on the path and he squared up to them but they were just passing through. She took to the water and he joined her looking concerned. At least she can swim so will be able to evade the fox.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.