Pladda and Alisa Craig

We have had a superb day of weather to enjoy some walking on Arran. We went to the south end, to Kildonan. I blipped this scene last May and I wondered if it was too unoriginal but here it is again. Pladda is an uninhabited island with an automated lighthouse. Alisa Craig, as anyone who watched the curling at the Winter Olympics will know, is the source of the best curling stones.

After returning to Brodick, via Blackwaterfoot, we had a lovely walk along the beach collecting sea glass and bits of pottery. Very satisfying. I’ve seen my first butterfly of the year and an enormous jelly fish. I started the day with a swim and I’ve done more than 15,000 steps so I firmly believe that my massive breakfast and no doubt similarly sized evening meal have been earned.

This morning, on another social media site, I came across a video made by my former employer and featuring a student with whom I’d worked. It made my heart sing and brought a tear to my eye. Because of the nature of my job I didn’t work directly with many students but there were some with whom, because of the way they were undertaking their studies, I formed a closer working relationship. I was just so delighted to see this one having completed her studies and gained her professional qualification working in a team which I know will be really supportive. Quite made my day.

There’s really nothing like a CalMac ferry coming into port so here’s my extra of the ‘Caledonian Isles’ approaching the pier at Brodick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.