Autumn in Middle Meadow Walk

With apologies I post yet another blip of the Meadows.

I know how much it irritates my little brother who once almost gasped his last on one lung after the other one unexpectedly quit, in one of the wards overlooking this avenue of trees, when this site housed the old Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh.
He has not got happy memories of the place.

Notwithstanding that, I find the trees at the moment very beautiful in all their autumn colours and to walk among them as the leaves flutter down in another windless day, brings back memories of running through Central Park in New York at the end of the marathon there, when the leaves were falling all around his Lordship and me and the crowd were shouting 'Freedom' as we passed sporting our saltire flags.

As I post this I see the new craze for young mums to barrel round the Meadows pushing their sporty prams in an attempt to lose their pregnancy weight.

I don't think they would be able to do this if they were pushing the old high Silver Cross or Osnath prams, when it was almost impossible to see where you were going over the top of their enormous hoods.

In an hour we are expecting another blipper's parents to grace our table for lunch.
I hope everything is under control, but I know they won't mind if we have to send out for sandwiches if things go belly up.

As the chef and chief cook, I'd better go and check.
His Lordship is the chief bottlewasher and will come into his own much later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.