Deer(e) rescue

Our Tractor Tuesday Blip President, one of the few on the globe who is not yet totally autocratical, power hungry, lying .... , posted a tractor entry today of one of her John Deeres. Dear oh dear oh dear, what a nasty sight but luckily without any physical harm to humans or animals. Only look if you are strong.

So as the boss posted a tractor photo on the wrong day, so will I. I had to bring in a fresh bale of haylage for the horses, a little bit sooner than expected as the last one had several spots that were mouldy. Horses are dreadfully sensitive to mould, it getting in to their lungs and usually causing months if not a lifetime of problems and considerable extra cost and work. Angie could no longer bother with trying to extract the good bits and thus I took the remains out on a pallet into the forest behind the house.

The deer are around again daily especially as it's the closed hunting season. And because of the continuing cold, there is still no grass growing. However as we have noticed from the cats and dogs, the ticks were out last week when we had two warm days between Maxi and Mini Beasts from the East.

In fact today I thought I ought to inspect a spot on the rear side of my knee that irritated me last week and I scratched at it. Now the spot is hurting. I asked Angie to have a look and she said it was a ring and looked suspiciously like an infected tick bite (the "bad" ones form a red ring a few days after). I will go to GP tomorrow.

The ground under my John Deere was not in the least bit firm despite the freezing temperatures again today. I did manage to get out of the forest, just. The old girl performed wonderfully again. If I wasn't so busy with Bliping, I would offer to help out our President and her agricultural contracting business. My John Deere can do 27.7km/h downhill on a tarmac road with an 8,000-litre slurry tank. On the flat, this reduces to about 5km/h and uphill we would need to remove about 7,999 litres of that slurry first.

We Tractor Tuesday Blipers stick together. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.