tomhutts

By tomhutts

Sore

It’s currently 11:45pm, and I realised I hadn’t taken a single picture today. So here’s my sweaty hoodie from an active day.

Despite the sun yesterday, Berlin doesn’t want to give up on winter yet. It was snowing and -2 when I woke up.
Getting out of bed was not easy.

I was meeting Ruben and Tona to go bouldering at 3pm so I pottered about the flat until around midday, until I moved myself to Books and Bagels. I got a black coffee and a brownie and listened to an audiobook titled “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck”. I suppose it’s a self help book, but less patronising. I’m finding it fascinating. It’s main message is to stop caring about the petty things in life. Focus your efforts elsewhere. Stop giving a fuck.
It discusses philosophy, religion, and the authors personal experiences. It sheds light on the mental health epidemic plaguing young people today and gives it context.

I’d highly recommend it.

3pm rolls around and I meet Ruben and Tona to go bouldering. It’s been a long time since I last climbed but I forgot how much I enjoyed it. Ruben navigated the beginner/intermediate walls with ease, whilst Tona and I grunted, groaned, and fell. To be honest, we got pretty good towards the end. I managed to tackle a tough wall after around 10 failed attempts. The satisfaction was immense. As was the burning in my arms.
Climbing is a workout to say the least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.