Defeated

Not one of our better days to be sure. Having waited with teeth chattering for a week to have a particular part delivered to repair the malfunctioning boiler, the phone call came this morning to say the heating engineers had the wrong part. It seems they may have the right gasket tomorrow.......... or not. Watch this space.

While His Lordship fielded the calls in the Dower House, I was waiting impatiently for a routine blood test in my doctor’s surgery as he ran late by half an hour. Finally summoned, I was persuaded to try statins. I have resisted for years but but finally agreed to a month’s supply as a trial. Just one of those horrible side effects listed and I will elect to take my luck with the consequences of not taking them.

Apparently my familial forebears are the culprits, not my diet or life style, although in the end it doesn’t matter about the why or wherefore if I have a stroke or a heart attack.
I just don’t like taking pills, unless absolutely necessary. The trouble is the probabilities that doctors work with nowadays ensure that the odds of something grim happening increase with age.
Still, maybe better to be this side of the daisies

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.