The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Fun Guy

A tiny mushroom, perhaps a Mycena, with a background of Acer leaves. I think this is the first fungus that I have blipped.

This started me thinking about the Kendal Torchlight Procession some years ago which had a woodland theme. Our office entered as ancient woodland organisms. I was dressed as a toadstool, the cap of which was a golfing umbrella covered in red material with large white spots: a fly agaric. I was hidden inside the white stipe, it was good to be anonymous when looking so ridiculous.

On the final straight I was collared for an interview by a reporter from Radio Cumbria. My legs were a bit constrained in the stipe, and I couldn't run away. He asked me if I was a toadstool, I replied I was a Fungi. He said what's it like being a fungus, I said it was magic but there wasn't mushroom in my costume. I guess it was apparent he wasn't getting far with the interview, so he let me go at the point. Feeling slightly embarrassed, I consoled myself with the thought that no-one I knew would have heard a live broadcast from the Torchlight - I was wrong.

Back to today, and the more recent past, I have posted the penultimate blip from our trip to Sicily here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.