CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Tornado' – 60163 – at speed near Stanley Downton

I had thought of exploring new locations to record the passing of 'Tornado' – no. 60163 – the steam engine that was built from scratch just over ten years ago. In the end the dull conditions with drizzle under low clouds convinced me to stay local.

So I returned to Stanley Downton near Stonehouse where the engine would pass on the high embankment carrying the main line from the Midlands south towards Bristol, and on to the West of England. The special trip was called the 'Sulis and Sarum Express', which are the Roman names for its destination cities of Bath and Salisbury.

I may watch it again this evening when it heads back from Salisbury to the north of Birmingham. It was very impressive and exactly like the scenes I remember as a child as engines like this hauled all the express trains of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.