CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A moody sky over Minchinhampton Common

The sun shone today and warmed the air enough for us to open the windows and doors. The birds in the garden sang joyfully and Woodpeckers and I both felt happier for the signs of spring. 

I decided to drive up to Minchinhampton Common which I can see from my desk about two miles away. It is owned and managed by the National Trust as a designated traditional Cotswold grassland. I had it in mind that I could see and hear the skylarks singing, as they nest on these common grasslands.

But I'm now a grumpy old man. When I arrived at a designated parking area for people coming to enjoy the common, the air was filled with the sight and sound of whining drones. Even trying to get away from them was difficult as their noise carried on the wind. I was afraid that these activities would scare off the skylarks which nest on the ground exactly where the people were 'playing' with their toys. I even found some middle-aged men, with their huge toy car which had huge spikes on its wheels to better grip the grass. Their idea of fun was to turn up the volume of the remote controlled electric car and career this toy all over the nesting site of the skylarks.

I did actually manage to hear two skylarks high in the sky above us, and watched one of them for a few minutes. Normally I would expect to see dozens of them and watch them land only a short distance from where I'd be standing.

There was a strong and very cold northerly wind which seemed to produce various layers and types of clouds. I enjoyed watching them and seeing the sun braking through and the light  marching across the grassland to banish the shadows in front of me, which you can see in the picture.

I'll return to the skylarks in midweek when there will be less pressure from people. I just hope they've been able to cope and can start to prepare for their breeding season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.