A pair of skylarks

After dropping Helena to set up her stall at Nailsworth Farmer's Market, I drove back over the hill across Minchinhampton Common. It was 8-30 am and the weather was glorious with weak sunshine at that time of day, a blue sky and very little wind. I had brought my camera and pulled off the road and parked on the grass close to the centre of the common which is owned by the National Trust and managed as a traditional Cotswold limestone grassland.

As I edged off the road I immediately saw three small birds on the ground just a few yards away from my car, and knew they were skylarks. I was delighted as it confirmed I would hear some beautiful singing as soon as I left the car.

There must have been dozens of skylarks some singing as they flew up high in the clear air, others wandering across the grassland looking for food as well as occasional displays between the birds indicating mating might be imminent.

I really enjoyed listening to their songs and watching all their varied behaviour. Some took off to ascend quickly to a point several hundred feet high where they could hover and sing. Some descended in gentle glides whilst others plummeted like falling stones.

I followed several pairs at different times and was allowed to get to about twenty metres form them before they would fly away. I've blipped this pair, the female on the left and the male on the right with its tufted head. The male flew off and I've added a shot of it to the 'Extra photos', as well as another skylark singing as it climbed up into the sky. I'll be back again as I want to spend more time with them in their habitat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.