The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Emergency Blip/Easter Basket

I went back to the outdoor market in Nailsworth today. Last month the weather there was so cold that the potential shoppers did not want to take off their gloves to handle goods or money, and I took just £2 more than the rent! I really did not want a repeat performance.

Today, however, was better. The flowers at the other stall looked delightful, but I was kept busy, and never got round to snapping them. A customer to whom I had posted a catalogue returned with an order. A gentleman I hadn't seen for a long time stopped by to buy a card for an Italian friend who'd just been granted citizenship. She had invited him to the ceremony. Brexit or no Brexit, I am glad that this guy is still alive, I hadn't seen him for months, and had begun to wonder. I now think he'd been avoiding me, because prior to that he'd been buying ten cards at a time! His house must be full...I know the feeling.

I ended up with a respectable 'winter market' sum, and Steve and I had a cooked lunch on our return. I tidied up my 'shop and office' area of the dining room, and that seemed to take hours, because there was a drawer to clear out too. Next stop my study? I can hardly get into it. It's ghastly.

Steve cooked supper. I got my books to balance.
At some point I realised I hadn't got a photo, so I snapped my little Easter basket-thing. Ducklings are trending today: I accidentally sold all eight of my actual Easter cards last Tuesday, at a knock down price.

Now I must sleep. It's midnight, and a tropical 19.4 degrees in the bedroom. Hello, climate change. Won't be long till it's freezing again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.