It really should have been a day for gardening

... it was such a lovely day.  In the end I enjoyed the sun streaming through the windows and got a bit obsessed with printing a few photos and finishing off some mounting.  I'd already printed the tulip in the thumbnail when I did my last batch of printing for the Yorkshire Federation annual exhibition, but I'd never got around to framing it.  Following on from last nights success with my `Snow Lines' image I thought I'd print that up as well.  And, as the only remaining mount I had left was pre-cut it had to be an A4 print, which was good as it turned out because it took me a few goes to get the blue right (I don't usually work on trial and error).  I've also been obsessing a little about black & white.  We have a rule in Penistone that if you submit three prints, then at least one of them has to be mono, so I've spent a few days this week choosing some prints that I thought might convert OK.  In the end three of these were taken on our recent visit to Venice (see extra) and the final one (in the main photo) was a companion to `snow lines' which was taken near Kirkafell Mountain on the Snaefell Peninsula.  So I have three with simpler compositions and three with the more complex structures of the street.  Altogether a very different feel to each group.  (Plus I have another nine square composite I'd quite like to try out.). So which to choose?  I thought I might take some of them with me to the Positive Image meeting tonight and look for some friendly critiques as that was on offer.  What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.