West Yorkshire Print Workshop

A CMYK screen-printing weekend with Sumiko Eadon.    There were only four of us, the sun shone and we had a lovely day.  (Well once I got there.) For people who don't go out on a night we've had a busy weekend, with The Sheffield Photographic Society Knock-out competition in the evening.

CMYK is the colour separation process that is used in the colour printing for newspapers and magazines.  The half-tone process gives rise to the familiar appearance of dots on the surface and is a way of using ink more economically.  I wonder if the dots are just a little too large for this small print which is only 100 X 150mm (6 x4 ").  I've had my eye on this image for a while now as having the potential for becoming a print.  This version is modified from the original 4 colourway with the introduction of strips of paper and circles which have been used to mask out the magenta.  One of the advantages for me on the day was that we didn't have to choose which colours to use, which does cut out some decision making and allows time to think about the masking of areas.  This is the print without the final black layer, which I rather like.  I ran out of time as I had to leave at 4pm to get back in time to go to Sheffield in the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.