Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Morning on the Hill

This morning I travelled to the Supreme Court of Canada for the release of the decision in the first case our little law firm has done in Canada's highest court. We were on for an intervener - the Canadian Civil Liberties Association - and while we did not prevail, it was still a bit satisfying to see the dissenting reasons of the Chief Justice of Canada echoing our arguments (the case was decided on a 4-3 split).

Afterwards I took a flight back to Toronto and attended an "alumni" reception and a dinner hosted by the law firm I worked at for 11 years prior to starting my own. It was fun to get together with the people in my "year of call" (to the Bar) at a fancy steakhouse where I didn't have to foot the bill :-)

Tomorrow is my 100th blip. I wish I weren't so exhausted as I'm afraid coming up with something special may not be in the cards...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.