Transitoire

By Transitoire

Joyeux Anniversaire

Got up rather early this morning for the troisième INTER class. I don't usually have them then, but when they asked with their hopeful faces I just couldn't say no! Ended up having an informal conversation class with the students - they were telling me all about their favourite English films (Lord of the Rings, The Avengers, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter) to name a few, and also some television series (Game of Thrones, Merlin, House, Grey's Anatomy). The French are so lucky that they do have all these Anglo-American influences, because watching television really is one of the best ways to improve your language! I think the troisième INTER are one of my favourite classes (am I allowed to say that?!) because they are the perfect mix of enthusiasm and cheekiness!

Then went back to chez moi to do some cleaning and tidying (domestic goddess!) so I don't have to do anything tomorrow bar packing my case for the weekend. Still rather worried about whether the strikes will affect my journey home...but then again, what can you do?

I finished my working day travelling back into school (there really are some strange people on public transport!) and then having a lesson with the quatrième INTER. They are studying The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe - creepy creepy stories, strange man! One of the students, after the class was asked what he was like, replied "crazy". Trying to sort out my timetable with Kristie at the moment which is really complicated, as I'm only meant to be working with the International Section but have ended up with normal classes too because the other assistant doesn't arrive until January (different scheme). On top of these classes I'm meant to be doing my own conversation hours with each International Section class...which at the moment isn't happening as I don't have enough hours! Hopefully things will calm down soon.

It was Becky's birthday today too, so we'd all clubbed together to buy her a surprise birthday present! When Claire and I were shopping on Monday...well, yeah. Luckily she likes her new watch! We all met up in her bâtiment then went out for a pizza, and luckily they managed to find the space for us, it was touch and go at one point! The next place was to a bar, where we met up with a few other people then onto karaoke. Unfortunately I did not get to participate in any karaoke as I had to get the last tram home. And unfortunately I missed it. But fortunately I was with Laura who offered me not only bedspace, but pyjamas and the lot! But you know what, I had an absolutely lovely evening, and it was awesome to see everyone, and to celebrate Becky's birthday together. Joyeux anniversaire ma chérie!

Words I learnt today:-
- Heaven - paradis
- Earth - terre
- Hell - enfers
- Tale -conte vs. Tail - queue
- Sharpened - aiguisé
- Cobweb - toile d'araignée
- Leaden sleep - "to sleep like a baby" - Sommeil de plomb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.