Transitoire

By Transitoire

Liverpool Eye

Liverpool by night. Would have been better with a tripod, but this will have to do.

Going shopping with mum was just what the doctor ordered. Well, dad was there as well, but he was banished to go and look around the shops on his own, as he can sometimes have a habit of…hovering. We both love to him to bits, but when you have to have the battle of Primarni then it needs to be as a team of two! He had his own things to do, and I was so glad he came too. After our shopping extravaganza, we had a lovely meal at our regular Greek restaurant. We’ve been so many times as a family now that the members of staff recognise us…mum and I even got kisses on our cheeks from the patriarch of the restaurant! As ever, ate so much food that I almost rolled back to the car, but that is all the fun of it right?

Also had some welcome good news delivered in the fact that my team won the PhotoSoc photography challenge, which happened last Thursday. Called ‘Disposable Camera Social’, it is pretty much a pub crawl around Leamington in teams, with each team armed with a disposable camera and a list of challenges. As the challenges have not changed much at all since my second year, when I was witnessing the writing of them among other things, we had all thought of things that we could do to win. Did I mention that our team was ridiculously competitive? As a team of ten, some of our more inventive challenges involved:-
- All of us lying on the pavement holding onto the kerb with the camera at a 90 degree angle to make it look like we were hanging off the edge of the kerb
- Nine of us in one phone box
- Nine of us leapfrogging bollards at once
- All ten of us being given piggybacks by strangers
- Kat and I with a moustachioed man
- Kat pretending to be Sally in ‘When Harry Met Sally’, you know, the diner scene…with Chandru looking on unnerved and me pulling a disapproving face next to them

Oh, and every team had to have a photography themed name. Ours? Snap my bitch up…thanks to Jack for that one! It was so lovely that Thom came along, especially since he gets on so well with all my friends. We all had a blast the week before, and it was well deserved that we won, especially since we put so much effort in.

The rest of our day was spent with everyone and the baby, and it is so nice to see them. Also so nice of them to help me with some of my university work, the level has really gone up this year…to the point that French people are struggling to explain to me why something means what is does in that way. So I can only thank them for being so generous with their time, especially with baby Zoé there too. Who, by the way, is still an absolute darling…and genuinely does sleep through the night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.