Transitoire

By Transitoire

Anticipation

Very early start this morning!! Left the lovely Laura's at 8am to get back to mine to change to then go to work. Have to say that a lot of today passed by in a little bit of a daze...but I had my troisième INTER first thing to wake me up. Today we were studying a piece of art by Fredrikke Palmer, and I took half the class and Kristie the other to try and get them to discuss the meaning of said piece. And my group of four was amazing...I was so impressed! Straightaway they got the link between the art and Oliver Twist (the book they have been reading). One went as far as to say that Oliver had been "caught in the web since birth" whereas other children had been forced by society. For a group of fourteen, fifteen year olds they are sometimes remarkably sophisticated! Another suggestion they had was that the cobweb represented society, both trapping and fragile; and the words around the web were the supports. I really think if you listen to young people and don't patronise, they really can find a niche.

The cinquième INTER replaced the usual sixième class today as they were on a school trip. So back to The Landlady it was! Managed to find a video which the pupils then watched...and they finally got to know a sort of ending! They have been talking about what "might" have happened for an entire week, so I think they're glad just to know that something did happen and it wasn't just left on a cliff-hanger. Bit of a strange video though...it is weird watching old British television. Was going to go home after the troisième INTER class, but was glad that I didn't - I really like this class too!

Ended up going to Le Paradis Grec with Kristie for lunch. It is just next to the harbour, about a five minute walk from the school so pretty perfect for a lunch hour! I had Le cornet en pita (chaud servi dans une pita, avec poivrons, tomates, oignons, tzatziki, frites et filet mignon de porc) which was only 5?! Was stuffed after half of it, so amazing value. And yes, I did finish it! Problem was that for my final hour of the day I was incredibly sleepy! Unfortunate as I was doing oral exams with the quatrième EURO...you really can tell when the pupils have worked or not!

Now I've packed my case for tomorrow, I'm really really excited to go home now...I really really hope that any of the journeys are affected by these strikes. Urgh frogs. Had a quick pit stop at Laura's and watched half a film (Le Roi Dance) and saw Becky and Claire too. Is really weird saying goodbye to everyone, especially when we've got so close in such a small space of time. Going to miss everyone...


This photo is taken on the road from Laura's back down to the tram - the streetlight shining through the trees onto the buildings really was striking. Wish I had a tripod rather than using a high ISO.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.