Textures....

....the theme for today's Tiny Tuesday. Thanks to Debbi/dbifulco for hosting this month!  Another cold, dreary day with intermittent rain, so I used this tiny bud I filched off one of my neighbor's trees a few days ago while out walking, as it has great textures!  I don't know the name of the flower it becomes, but when his tree blooms it has lovely creamy colored flowers about 3 inches in diameter.
I went to my uncle's funeral yesterday afternoon, and it was a wonderful celebration of his life, just as he'd wanted it to be. He'd served in the Navy toward the end of WWII, so he had an honor guard of 2 Navy servicemen, along with 6 veterans who honored him with a gun salute and taps at the grave-site. It was very moving.  Looking around at my family I couldn't help but think how we were always together at holidays when I was growing up--grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins--and now it seems the only time we cousins see each other is when someone dies. We should really try to do a better job of getting together!  
I'm off to make my cookies, as tonight's my evening to bring a desert  and to serve dinner at the meal site.  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.