Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

The Beachcomber, Windows in Rose Street

A nice ride in to work, it wasn't too breezy. For some reason, despite a few cars, it feels pretty quiet

A quick trip trip in to town in the morning to get stitches out. No lunchtime walk today. On the way, I get a quick shot of these windows in Rose St. They are quotes from "The Beachcomber" part of "Selected Poems" by George MacKay Brown.

Monday I found a boot –
Rust and salt leather.
I gave it back to the sea, to dance in.

Tuesday a spar of timber worth thirty bob.
Next winter
It will be a chair, a coffin, a bed.

Wednesday a half can of Swedish spirits.
I tilted my head.
The shore was cold with mermaids and angels.

Thursday I got nothing, seaweed,
A whale bone,
Wet feet and a loud cough.

Friday I held a seaman’s skull,
Sand spilling from it
The way time is told on kirkyard stones.

Saturday a barrel of sodden oranges.
A Spanish ship
Was wrecked last month at The Kame.

Sunday, for fear of the elders,
I sit on my bum.
What’s heaven? A sea chest with a thousand gold coins.

http://www.scottishpoetrylibrary.org.uk/poetry/poems/beachcomber

A long day without a decent lunchtime walk. It also means I leave work late. At least the sun is still shining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.