Shifty's

With the golf course waterlogged and closed, Tess & I got out on the bikes for a bit of exercise this morning. Unfortunately, we didn't quite make it home before the threatened heavy rain and got soaked.

This afternoon I spent a happy hour browsing in our local independent record store, Shifty's. The blip shows part of one of the walls just inside the entrance, which is covered in replica concert posters.

I came away happy with two CDs (one of New Orleans jazz / Blues by the Yockamo All Stars and a Barclay James Harvest compilation) and a 1973 LP by Dave Mason, one of the original members of one of my favourite bands, Traffic.

When he left the band, he went back to America and forged a career there. I'd not heard any of his solo work but this record features Graham Nash and Stevie Wonder, amongst others, so it was too good to resist. I paid the princely sum of £4 for all three albums- bargain.

The link is to Dave Mason playing the first track on the LP live.

https://youtu.be/h9tJY1c2Nq4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.