First planting

I did get a lie in today, but was awake just after 7. Once up, I got all my seeds together, with my vegetable book and sat down to see what I can plant now (or perhaps should have already sown). I have so many open packets which may not be viable, but I can't throw anything away. Then I got two loads of washing done with one load out on the line. After the initial frost it became lovely and sunny.

At 10.30 I woke Henry and Mollie up. I'd made a shopping list and I knew they both wanted to come with me. They were up quite quickly and we met Jon at Morrison's for coffee at 11ish then shopped in a very busy store. My bill was actually quite low. From there we went to Homebase and bought a tin of yellow bathroom paint and some small compost bags reduced to 50p each.

After lunch which we had in the conservatory, Henry started on the bathroom. Jon came in from a morning working in Cromer gardening and we sat in the garden to have tea. It was quite a sun trap and lovely to watch the birds. There are blue tits trying out an old birdbox in our garden, and a sparrow making a nest behind the greenhouse. Until the rain that I can hear falling now, it seemed like Spring was nearly here.

Jon and I took our potatoes and measuring stick down to the allotment, where we spent an hour and a half digging and planting AND measuring the distances between potatoes. It was very satisfying and now looks like we are properly started. I had hoped to go again tomorrow but this rain puts me off that. I still have seeds to plant in pots so will do that at home instead.

Henry has done a great job on the bathroom. Another coat today and we will have a totally refreshed bathroom. I'll forgive Henry the blob of yellow paint on the towel, as he's made a really good job with paintbrush and roller without any input from Jon or I.

Mollie is now having a go at making hot cross buns. The yeast we have is past its sell by date, so we may have small flat ones!!

A cosy evening now, with a blanket and tv. A great start to my week off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.