Making the most of the sunshine

I was outside as much as I could be today, days that promise sunshine almost throughout are not common at present.  Busy with tidying the garden and the greenhouse, I was not alone.  Not sure if she's the same one as featured three weeks ago but Mrs Blackbird was busy gathering nesting material.  She's surprisingly tame, allowing me to get withing a few feet of her.  Unphased too by the cat being out with me and even more surprising, he completely ignored her.

Brown bin filled, just in time and greenhouse clearout now well under way.  A late trip to the allotment before the evening rain arrived was slightly mis-timed - the rain arrived with me.  I planted the first earlies and a couple of rows of onion sets before the spots turned towards a downpour.  I know it's early for the potatoes in such a cold year but our soil is light and any frost will not damage the deep planted tubers.  Some of the best cropping potatoes in 2017 were the strays that were left from 2016, left underground all winter, so I'm hoping that risking a very early start will give better results than previous years cautious approach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.