Hot cross buns

The last time I made hot cross buns Mum and Dad were with me for Easter. That was probably 6 or 7 years ago, maybe 8.

They're a long process to make and halfway through I remembered why I don't bother. Then again it's grounding to knead and slow down and let the rising process happen.

In the past I've used Alison Holst's recipe which is a cracker. I tried Chelsea Winter's recipe and while very nice they're too light on spice for me.

The crosses are from Alison Holst's recipe as I like a lighter pastry like cross over sweet piped cornflower mix.

All good fun :-)

Either by technology or in person we've all been present to Dad today. On Good Friday that is how it should be. As I reminded him, he's nearly managed another day.

Today's gratitude: For time a peaceful reflective day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.