The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Noemi Ban

I have the deepest respect for this amazing lady. I’ve met her several times at concerts and twice attended her talk about her experiences in concentration camps when she was 21 years old. Every time I’ve heard her speak I’ve been moved by her stories. She has traveled all over the world to share her story, mostly to children in schools. She is 95 years old and still sharp and full of life. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/No%C3%A9mi_Ban I took this photo afrom across the table at a wonderful seder with Shelly. I felt honored to be invited. We were at the home of Shelly’s friends Hank and Corinne. I enjoyed the evening and felt I learned more about Shelly while spending time with some of his delightful friends.

In the morning we both went to Seattle on the symphony bus with the same group from our first meeting. Jeremy Denk played Beethoven’s Emporer Concerto. It was so fine. His playing is so rich and full of emotion. After the intermission the orchestra played Sibelius’ Finlandia. It was a superb concert. The extras are Beneroya Hall during the pre-concert talk and Noemi’s son Steve and granddaughter Julia at the seder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.