Chelmsford

Baddow Meads - adjoining the river bank area behind the Fox and Raven, showing just how wet an' 'orrid it's been in Essex.  Poor horses, up to their knees in mud - I hope they aren't too uncomfortable - at least they aren't hungry. It's bitterly cold - with drizzle.   The cold weather is an understandable hot topic of conversation here as we move in to April and the daffodils struggle.

Well last night's journey could have been worse.  We finally took off three and a half hours late, but as the plane was only two thirds full, I soon moved to an empty row of seats and lay down and slept for a couple of hours.  Landed at Stansted just before 3am with an hour's wait for the next bus to Chelmsford.  Finally walked in through my front door at 5.15 UK time (felt later of course).  Asleep not long afterwards.   Woke 11am and a quiet few hours at home with a quick visit from bro and his boys, I was waiting for Ikea to deliver the sofa and coffee table I bought on line last week.  True to their word, there were several big boxes in my lounge by 3pm.  Then I went to buy essentials at Asda who will be closed tomorrow Easter Sunday. Another quick pop in from bro and then I walked to the retail park where a nice man in Carpet Right happily sold me carpet for the bedroom recently renovated and decorated in my absence, and which can be fitted this Thursday.  Hurrah.  After such a successful day, what better way to celebrate than cross the road from the retail park to meet bro for the third time today, but for the first time at the Fox and Raven for a couple of pints of real ale, (ah, so nice to be home) and a delicious dinner.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.