Silly Saturday ...

Silly Easter Bunny Chipmunk. 

After lunch today we went up to Jacobsburg State Park to see what kind of wildlife was out and about.  When we arrived we went directly to the frog pond to check on them. Much to our delight there were several frogs sunning themselves on the surface of the pond.  After taking some pictures we then went to the bird blind.

In the bird blind I spotted a chipmunk (not this one pictured!) and some small sparrows.  There were also some male and female cowbirds. We stayed in the blind for a little while waiting to see if any other birds would come by but nothing else did. 

We stopped at a couple of stores on the way home to pick up a few things.  As we were leaving the house earlier we both spotted the chipmunk in our front yard. As I wanted to get home in the hopes of getting some pictures we didn't linger long at the stores .... we were home by 3:00 pm.

Almost as soon as we were home I put some peanuts out in the front yard and then set my camera up (and myself)  inside the front door.  I didn't have long to wait ..... the chippy was soon out of his burrow and taking the peanuts.  I kept putting out more peanuts .... moving them closer and closer each time until I had them on the front porch itself .... as evidenced by my picture!

Then .... I got crazy!  I decided to sit on the porch stoop to see if he would take the peanuts from my hand .... like last year!  AND HE DID!!! Without any hesitation mind you!  I took some pictures with my smartphone but they weren't the best .... so you will just have to believe me!

It was a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.