The Easter Egg Hunt

Dear Diary,

It's not an April Fool joke.  It is Easter and the snow is melting!  I am thinking about our annual Easter egg hunt when I was growing up.  We colored eggs on Saturday.  We had to buy special white eggs to do it.  Our local eggs were brown.  The last hunt I had was many years ago when friends brought their young daughter here for Easter weekend.  We use these plastic eggs filled with little candy treats and hid them in the barn.  We couldn't use real eggs for fear a squirrel might steal them.  The gold egg was the prize which held a special treat and much sought after.

Now, Emerson knocks these eggs around and many roll off the table.  I am the one doing the egg hunt as I try to locate the roll-aways, usually under the wood stove or in the pantry!  Great fun for both of us.  Happy Easter everyone and Happy Spring (or Fall down under!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.