The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Growing Up Fast

Well today didn't quite go as envisaged, but it was still a wonderful day out at Newport Wetlands.

The first change of plan came with the weather, the one thing I cannot control. It was forecast to be a wonderfully sunny, but cold day. Instead I woke up to rain and blanket cloud. It only really lifted for an hour or so in the afternoon. That aspect of the day was somewhat disappointing!

I ended up meeting my brother, my sis in law and my two wonderful nieces down there, as well as Dave, my lorry driving mate!

The bitterly cold north-easterly didn't aid birdwatching at all. There really wasn't a lot about. The usual stuff was on the lakes, Gadwalls, Tufties, Swans and their cygnets, a few Teals and that was about it. We did get to see the Little Owls, which pleased my brother somewhat, as he had never seen one in the wild. So I ended up taking more pictures of my nieces than I did of any wildlife!

It was nice to get back down to Newport after not gone for nearly two months (I think). It's Maisie's birthday party tomorrow, so we might call in again for half hour on the way to Ross on Wye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.