Numbers etc.

As we walked along the river and then the canal I was telling my son, back in Oxford for a visit, about the wonderful Mathematical Institute building. I said that I doubted it would be open today but at least we could look at the two-tile, non-repeating Roger Penrose paving outside (extra). We did, and walked across it trying to work out what wasn’t repeating. Then, because it was there, we challenged the automatic door to the foyer and it swung open. 

Well - if that happens you go in. I told him how I’d visited beyond the foyer about four years ago during an open weekend and that I once talked my way inside by saying (truthfully) that our visitor from New Zealand was an architect, but that there was no chance of us getting in today. But the person monitoring the inner door overheard me and asked if we wanted to go in. You bet! I love this building.


Black and white in colour 159

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.