Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Snow in October!

I set the alarm early so that I could watch the Formula One Qualifying, but when I woke up I had a headache such as I have not had for six years. It was like a migraine, but not just one side; I decided not to get up and watch the F1 Qualy 'live' and anyone who knows me will know that it must have been bad! I kept off the Internet all morning so that I did not know the result and watched the highlights on BBC1.

When my daughter (Hillview) telephoned at 0839 hours I was asleep. She rang to ask why I had not rung her to say it had snowed. It is something we always do, the first one to see the snow telephones the other one! We live in Essex, not far above sea level, so this was not even high ground.

So headache or no headache, it was on with my dressing gown and wellies, (to wet for slippers) and outside to see the snow. There was some snow on the cars and the shed roof as well as on the grass and compost heap. I took some pictures for me and Mr A to blip; he was also still in bed; it was definitely snow although it had frozen since it had fallen.

Rant - By this time the headache had abated a little so this morning I finished off some marking. On my two modules students can send paper copies if they wish, rather than on most modules where electronic submission is required. I had just finished marking one and went to the post box with seven minutes to spare. The postman saw me, did a fast turnaround in a gateway and sped up the road. I was ten metres from him and he could clearly see me and my large brown envelope. I telephoned our local post office, they did not even ask my name so now I have written to them and to the customer complaints department; the box was cleared five minutes before its scheduled time. Rank over.

It is dull and cold here today with some rain and more light snow this afternoon. I hope it is better where you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.