Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Postage Stamps

Today after watching the F1 with a predictable result, despite all the hype about tyres, I decided it was time I sorted out some used postage stamps ready to send to one of the charities. I have collected used postage stamps for years and regularly gave them to the Addenbrookes Eye Unit where someone then passed them on to Guide Dogs for the Blind. The last time I took any I was met with indifference from the staff and it seems that the person who did this no longer works there. I have still been saving them and now have about two kilos in weight; there are plenty of charities who do like used stamps, so these need to be packaged and sent on their way.

I was first introduced to stamp collecting when I was about ten, by my life-long friend V and still have that first stamp album. Although I used to collect used postage stamps, for a long time now I have collected only First Day Covers, but not the basic ones issued by the Post Office. I like signed and unusual ones and my collection of First Day Covers, like my postcards need to be sorted and categorised properly. A job to be done before the builders start work properly.

Sunny today, but with some wind although not as strong as we expected; maybe that will arrive overnight. Tomorrow I will be with my grandchildren as it is half-term, but I am only required Monday and Thursday as their parents are working from home on the other days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.