Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Towers

Last week Scottish Canals posted on social media about a new pathway that had been created through Claypits Local Nature Reserve in the Hamiltonhill district of Glasgow, what the press release referred to as "Glasgow's 'secret' nature reserve."

I'll give them that, certainly: I hadn't heard of Claypits LNR before. In truth I hadn't heard of Hamiltonhill before, but managed to find that on an online map fairly quickly. Some more searching on ye olde internette revealed that the nature reserve was designated as such only in 2016.

Among the highlights, according to the blurb, are the excellent views over the city - apparently one can see the Isle of Arran on a good day. Today was not a good day, but I took advantage of a gap between the rain and sleet showers, and the fact that I had to be in nearby Ruchill in the morning, to visit the Nature Reserve and try out the new path.

I am going to be upfront and say that it is not the prettiest nature reserve I have ever visited - there is still a lot of work to be done to tidy up this piece of urban Glasgow - but one can't fault the views, even on a miserable day like today.

The blip shows the towers of the former Trinity College (on the left) and Park Church (the white tower on the right), familiar landmarks on the Glasgow skyline. To the right of this view, i.e. not in shot, one can see the tower and main buildings of Glasgow University. I've added that as an extra picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.