Guildhall memorial garden

I've spotted this installation in Guildhall Yard from a distance for a while, and finally went over to have a look this morning.  It's a temporary garden commemorating 100 years since the end of WW1.  The planting is made to look like explosions (it really does once you know that), and the 'trees' are hung with dozens of - I assume original - letters home from soldiers who served in the war.  I stood and read a few of them before carrying on to work - very moving.

Had a good, busy, day at work - my colleague is back now from two weeks in Mexico, so it was good to see her (and hand stuff back over to her which I've been managing in her absence!)  Went to M&S with Char at lunch, and collected a couple of sets of bath mats I ordered online yesterday.  

SO tired by this evening - might have to have an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.