Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

I don't know much about baby birds

I fussed at the hubby to go get the birds out of the grill today as I THOUGHT they were dead.   When I opened the grill up yesterday, none of them moved, I poked the nest to see if they would jump, placed my finger very close to them and wiggled it and generally made lots of noise.  They never moved and I could not see any body lifting with breath.   So I ASSUMED they were gone.

So this morning Jerry goes out and opens the lid of the grill..TWO birds jumped on to the ground!    He managed to capture them and put them back in and close the grill. There was a third bird.   Then he heard and saw the momma bird bringing what looked like a worm or meal worm for them.  I did put out some meal worms for the blue birds that have been fluttering around the yard (hoping they would stay!). The youngsters got some protein!  

Of course, I had to go out and SEE!    The momma was busy chirping at me and sort of guarding the babies but I managed to open the grill just a little to see them.    This is the only shot I took trying not to freak them all out.   The extra is the momma telling me to get away!   I think these babies will be flying away by the end of the week if not sooner.  

I sure am glad I was wrong!   Nature definitely knows better than me!  Who knew baby birds were good at playing dead?!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.