Rafstar99

By Rafstar99

Work placement day 2

I think I may have forgot to mention. Me and mum are currently staying in a hotel in Derbyshire for my work placement.
The hotel has a swimming pool in it. So before breakfast we nipped to the pool for a quick swim! It was so nice to relax in the jacuzzi because I have a long eventful day planned!
For breakfast, I had various fruit, followed by a hearty cooked breakfast! Washed down with a coffee of course! We had to be quick because I had to be at the bike hire centre by 10:30.
This is where I'd learn different skills including customer service and getting to know the equipment.
We got to the bike hire centre and was greeted by the two men who operated it. They were extremely kind. I'd give this place 10/10 on trip advisor!
They thought it was a good idea to familiarise ourselves with the various tricycles. We were given a tandem trike. Which is basically a trike which needs two people to power it.
Off we went! It was such a good opportunity to scope the vast beautiful scenery that Derbyshire has to offer!
This photo was taken on our journey!
The first obstacle we came across, was a flat tyre. Which meant we had to call the bike hire service to come and save us.
The second obstacle, was when mum drove the tandem down a slope, which sent us crashing to the floor. Amazingly, no one was hurt. But, it left the tandem in a right state. The forks were crooked, and it was in no state to get us anywhere. We didn't want to call the bike hire service again because we knew it couldn't be fixed en route. Which brings us nicely to our third obstacle. Walking the tandem back to the bike hire centre. Bearing in mind it was pouring with rain aswell...
Oh, I forgot to mention my broken toe. Which made the pain EXTRA painful.
But, thanks to a few really kind people, we made it back to the bike hire centre in one piece!
The first thing I did, was have a hot chocolate. Which I found really gorgeous. We really deserved that!
Get me in that warm swimming pool now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.