Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sleeping in the sun

It was such a beautiful day I decided to stop off in the New Forest on my way to the hairdresser's (okay, I know, my hairdresser's nowhere near the New Forest..). I was once again looking for shots of bracken and leaf fall - and, although the oaks were hanging on to theirs, the beech leaves were blowing off like snow so I was well in there. Also saw and blipped some huge wrinkly fungi like half-cooked pancakes.

However, in the end this little group of pregnant mares stole my heart, so well camoflaged I didn't see them straight away and am still not sure how many there actually were. They were dozing under a stand of holly trees, enjoying the relative warmth and being out of the wind (as was I - it was vicious!). Look how thick and wintery their coats have already become.

Enjoy your evenings - I don't think we'll get such good blipping weather tomorrow x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.