Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Food Fight at the Frat House

Thank you all so much for the hearts, stars and comments yesterday - you made a very tired lady feel very special.

I have a day off today - my hubs took his mom out to Long Island to visit her two nephews and the graves of her sister, brother and parents. So, after I helped get her up, fed and ready to go, I handed off responsibility to my hubs for the day. I tend to get bad bouts of fatigue (one of the permanent after effects of the brain tumor) so I kind of needed a day to regroup. Took a long walk over at the park this morning and finally got some decent shots of ruby crowned kinglets feeding in the shrubs along the lake. This one even shows the tiniest bit of his ruby crown - first time I've actually seen a hint of it. Ran into one of the Audubon naturalists who I've come to know and we had a nice chat and a bit of birding.

Most of the leaves are off the big trees, except this one, which is in its full yellow splendor This is right next to the small parking lot next to one of the lakes where I like to walk.
.
Back home where I fiddled around out back for a bit. Put up a new feeder in one of the cherry trees which is what you see here. Within minutes, the chickadees had found it, followed closely by the rowdy band of pine siskins. Boy, can these little birds pack down a lot of seeds ... and fight. I saw one get another on the ground and peck the bejeezus out of it. Not good dating behavior.

We are bracing for Hurricane Sandy which is expected to bring heavy rains and high winds to our part of the state. Of course, it could also blow out to sea - time will tell. I am going to take advantage of a quiet house to get a little nap now and will check back later to catch up. Please forgive my sporadic commenting right now - my plate has been a bit full this week.

Happy Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.