Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Say it with flowers

What perfect weather we are having. Sunny, warm, no wind. Just right for getting out and catching the last of the autumn flowers which seem to have got along better without me being home. So cheerful to return from Wellington to see the garden still dripping in flowers.
Trev came through his heart valve operation well. We were just away the week at Wellington Hospital. Now he is home to recuperate and grow strong again. I’m sure all your good wishes are what helped him get through the days when he felt life could never be the same again. It certainly helped me. A big thankyou to you all. Hoping your favourite flower might be amongst this bunch.
I hadn’t picked up a camera for over a week and the DSLR hadn’t been touched for 3 weeks but it felt just right in my hands as I went round the garden.
Hospitals are great places when you are sick, except they are so noisy. Trev reckoned he didn’t sleep the whole time he was there, which is a bit of an exaggeration, but machines beeping all night and disturbed patients calling out don’t make for a good night’s sleep. His first night home he slept all night. The staff from surgeons down through nurses to ward assistants and tea ladies were all so nice and helpful. Food wasn’t too bad either. I stayed at a motel opposite and a string of friends and relations took me out each day just to keep me from being on my own too long. Mind you I quite enjoyed sitting in the reception area and watching a constant flow of people go past. A real league of nations. There is a helicopter pad on the rooftop and in the week I saw 14 helicopters land and this didn’t count the middle of the night ones. Amazing place. But east, west home is best!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.